Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Congres/symposium | Best practices-bijeenkomst

International Student Experience

Datum
maandag 12 maart 2018
Tijd
Bezoekadres
Scheltema
Marktsteeg 1
2300 CS Leiden

Deze bijeenkomst biedt wetenschappelijke en ondersteunende medewerkers gelegenheid om samen na te denken over verbetering van de ervaringen van internationale studenten die aan de Universiteit Leiden studeren. Internationale studenten zijn ook welkom om dit evenement bij te wonen en bij te dragen aan de discussie door hun persoonlijke ervaringen te delen.

Initiatieven tonen

Tijdens dit evenement toont de universiteit enkele centrale sleutelinitatieven die erop gericht zijn om de ervaring van internationale studenten voortdurend te verbeteren. Het doel van die initiatieven is om internationale studenten vóór en na hun aankomst in Leiden gerichte onderstening te bieden en de communicatie met internationale studenten te verbeteren gedurende het traject van aanstaande student tot alumnus.

Programma

13:30 ‑ 14:00 Registratie for break-outsessies
14:00 ‑ 14:30 Welkom en paneldiscussie
14:30 ‑ 15:00 Overzicht van centrale projecten
15:00 ‑ 15:15 Koffiepauze
15:15 ‑ 16:30

Best practices delen in break-out-sessies

Diverse faculteiten presenteren en bespreken hun voorbeelden van best practices op een dieper niveau in kleinere groepen. Deze voorbeelden zijn gerelateerd aan community building en ondersteuningsinitiatieven voor internationale studenten. Er zijn 3 rondes met elk 4 best practices. Deelnemers kiezen bij registratie aan het begin van de bijeenkomst hun break-out-sessies, op basis van 'wie eerst komt, eerst maalt'.

16:30 ‑ 17:00 Conclusie
17:00 ‑ 18:00 Borrel

Voertaal

De voertaal van de bijeenkomst wordt bepaald op basis van de voorkeur van de deelnemers. U kunt uw voorkeuren aangeven in het registratieformulier.

Best practices

  1. Buddy programme Faculty of Science
    International students are paired to current Science students to make the international students feel welcome and to help them finding their way.
    Gloria Schildwacht (schildwacht@science.leidenuniv.nl), Margot Moeslinger
    More information
      
  2. Cross Cultural Community course
    A course for students in Computer Science, and other science programme to develop cross cultural skills.
    Annemart Berendse (a.c.berendse@liacs.leidenuniv.nl)
     
  3. English taught semester at Biomedical Sciences
    A fully English taught semester where local students and incoming international students form a truely international classroom.
    Evelien Hack (e.hack@lumc.nl)
    More information
      
  4. Internationalisation committee of study association MFLS
    LisCo was founded as a committee to make the stay of international students at LUMC more pleasant.
    Jozif Vlaski (voorzitter@mfls.nl) + member Internationalisation committee
    More information
     
  5. Humanities buddy programma for master students
    Each year, many students come to Leiden, and many find a home away from home thanks to the Humanities Master’s Buddy Programme.
    Namrata de Leeuw (n.de.leeuw@hum.leidenuniv.nl), Marliese Vollebregt (marliese.vollebregt@gmail.com), Olivier Faijgenblat
    More information
      
  6. Communication and community building at the International Bachelor Psychology
    How to create a sense of community and manage expectations?
    Jennifer Martin (j.m.martin@fsw.leidenuniv.nl), Florine Weekenstroo (f.weekenstroo@fsw.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
      
  7. Global Lounge + community building
    In the Global Lounge students and staff can meet, in an international setting, watch the news from all over the world, find information about partner universities and lot’s more.
    Anette van Sandwijk (a.m.m.van.sandwijk@law.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
      
  8. Pantomime / Dies Fatalis
    An activity to bring together LUC students and staff
    Hungwah Lam (h.w.lam@luc.leidenuniv.nl)
      
  9. Residence Life Programme
    The Residence Life Programme supports students in their academic pursuits, personal growth and participation in the community.
    Jantien Delwel (j.delwel@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  10. Student Counselling at LUC
    Two SEA Student Life Counsellors are working at LUC. Depending on students’ problems and circumstances, solutions and support may be offered.
    Vinanda Kapooria (v.kapooria@sea.leidenuniv.nl), Ranoe Sewrattan (r.r.sewrattan@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  11. Career services for international students
    SEA offers career support for local and international students.
    Sophie Blok (s.blok@sea.leidenuniv.nl)
    More information
     
  12. International student panel
    The Faculty of Science set up a panel with international students to function as a sounding board within the faculty community.
    Gloria Schildwacht (schildwacht@science.leidenuniv.nl)

Deze website maakt gebruik van cookies. Meer informatie